Skip navigation

The Seven Churches

7 Churches

John had to write seven letters to Seven Churches. These seven letters were dictated to him by an angel that got the message direct from Jesus.
To see letters to these Seven churches penned by John, see links below.

1. Ephesus - The name means: The Desired One. 5. Sardis - The name means: Remnant
2. Smyrna - The name means: Myrrh; Death. 6. Philadelphia - The name means: Brotherly Love
3. Pergamum - The name means: Mixed Marriage. 7. Laodicea - The name means: People Rule
4. Thyatira - The name means: Semiramis.

These seven churches existed in local towns and today the towns can still be found. Today the towns are found in modern Turkey.

There are many reasons why the churches are in this order can you thing of any?

Background Reading:

One Like a Son of Man

9 I, John, your brother and companion in the suffering and kingdom and patient endurance that are ours in Jesus, was on the island of Patmos because of the word of God and the testimony of Jesus. 10 On the Lord's Day I was in the Spirit, and I heard behind me a loud voice like a trumpet, 11 which said: "Write on a scroll what you see and send it to the seven churches: to Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea."
Revelation 1:9–11


4 John,

To the seven churches in the province of Asia:

Grace and peace to you from him who is, and who was, and who is to come, and from the seven spirits before his throne.
Revelation 1:4

More Information:

The Meaning of their Names:
Epheses: The Desired One
Smyrna: Myrrh; Death
Pergamos: Mixed Marriage
Thyatira: Semiramis
Sardis: Remnant
Philadelphia: Brotherly Love
Laodicea: People Rule

Jump to navigation